Pinned

I have two “invisible” (hidden…indiscernible) disorders, diabetes and Stiff Person Syndrome. Disguised in presumed health, I have social anonymity from the stigma of disability. IDDM and SPS are lettered jocks on a champion chronic illness team and I am their girl. Going steady.

Dates are plentiful…to my staff of physicians, the infusion clinic, the pharmacy. In preparation of an impromptu ER gala, I know how to accessorize. I have purchased a serviceable stainless steel chain and pendant, personally engraved, tagging me from the healthy herd. I am officially pinned as a chronic sweetheart.

As much fashion thought went into the design of medic alert jewelry as Good Will throw-aways. I do have a choice, the ever-visible bracelet or the belly-button-length necklace I can wear under my clothes. The screaming red logo is consistent with serviceable. Pretty is not an option. One problem, my illnesses and the lengthy list of my medications, not to mention the 800 hotline, require a tablet size pendant.

What I would give for a delicate gold chain, simple diamond charm, and my information intricately written on the back with the artisan flair of a rice picture carver.

“Adversity is the diamond dust Heaven polishes its jewels with.”
~Thomas Carlyle~

Copyright © 2008

Leave a comment